Skip to content

The Importance of Consistency

August 26, 2012

When it comes to writing, as in many other aspects of life, it can be very worthwhile to be consistent. If you set aside a part of your day, every day, for writing, then it becomes part of a routine, which is often difficult to break. This may also be called perseverance. No matter how busy you are in a given day, you still find time to write. This is how I went about finishing my newest novel, Discordant Tones, which I completed just the other day. I wanted to finish the writing of the novel by the time I had to go back to college. I counted how many days I had to work with, and then I calculated the amount I had to write to reach my goal. This turned out to be three pages a day. I realize that to some people, writing three pages can be quite easy and take no time at all, but I often spend hours writing a single page, usually because of distractions. This meant that writing three whole pages every single day would be rather difficult, especially on days when I was busy all day long. However, I made sure that I sat down every single day and wrote those three pages. Often I wouldn’t start writing until one in the morning, but I would get it done. In this way, I managed to start up a routine. After a few days, I knew I could do what had to be done, but I just had to have the willpower to do it. This was where consistency came into play. As long as I kept writing my three pages day after day, I knew I could do it one more day. This made it easier to actually get the writing done. I am very thankful now that it worked since I am leaving for college tomorrow. If I could do it, so can you. I encourage all writers to persevere with their works. If you don’t know what to write, just write something anyway. The words and ideas are in your head; you just have to write them down.

From → Uncategorized

3 Comments
  1. You’ve been nominated for the Liebster Award! Congrats! Check out the details here: http://whitneycarter.wordpress.com/2012/08/27/liebster-award/#more-1036

  2. Very wise and I will try to do the same. Used to be better than I am. Get distracted by all this social media stuff and interesting blog posts like yours.

Leave a Reply

