Skip to content

Word Dynamo: How Many Words Do You Know?

January 5, 2012

I recently stumbled upon Word Dynamo, a word-based game developed by Dictionary.com that estimates the number of words you know. After the initial quiz to determine your starting point, you can choose to take other quizzes or play other games in order to demonstrate more words in your vocabulary and to learn new ones. So far I’ve learned dozens of new words that I can include in my writings, and I’m sure I’ll learn many more. I’m currently at 49,000 words, can you beat that?

When’s the last time you yarely peregrinated to your destination? Were you on a hegira? I hope you didn’t get poison ivy and start to yeuk. After trying out Word Dynamo, you can smoothly proclaim at a wedding that the bride has effloresced into a beautiful woman and that the bridesmaids look wonderful in their xanthous dresses.

It is always good to learn more words, though it is often difficult to use them in ordinary conversation and still be understood. For example, before a meal you could say you are ‘lickerish,’ meaning fond of and eager for choice food, but everyone would think you are crazy for calling yourself ‘licorice.’ However, after your explanation and a few good laughs all around, everyone would have learned a new word.

From → Uncategorized

8 Comments
  1. Dude, this is awesome! It’s so addictive.

  2. I got to 50,094 before it wanted me to sign up. A resourceful tool, regardless.

    • Impressive, I’ve found that you’ll get 50,000-something if you get every word right on the College and Beyond section.

  3. What’s Happening i am new to this, I stumbled upon this I have found It positively useful and it has aided me out loads. I hope to contribute & help other users like its helped me. Great job.

  4. Cool blog. Truly amazing work.

  5. Yeah bookmaking this wasn’t a high risk decision outstanding post! .

  6. I have read some good stuff here. Definitely worth bookmarking for revisiting. I wonder how much effort you put to make such a fantastic informative web site.

Leave a Reply

